Happy Stomaversary!

Today is my 20th anniversary of getting life-saving colostomy surgery!

Yes, 20 years ago I was in a hospital recovering from surgery to remove cancer in my rectum. Since then I have been able to do almost everything that I was able to do before. Even some things that I thought I would never do!

I’ve gone through chemotherapy and radiation treatments. I’ve continued to be active by walking and biking. I’ve worked at various jobs and have stepped up my volunteering. I’ve lived to see two children get married, and enjoy playing with two grand children now. Life is good!

To find out more about what a colostomy is, visit the Ostomy Canada Society website at www.ostomycanada.ca

October 1, 2016 is Canada Ostomy Day and I’m raising awareness and funds for Ostomy Canada Society by participating in the Stoma Stroll. You can view/donate on my fund-raising page:

https://ostomycanada.akaraisin.com/stomastroll2016/peter

About

A guy from Saskatoon

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in advocacy, Canada Ostomy Day, Celebration, colostomy
